Research team

We are part of the Department of Computing at the Faculty of Technology, University of Turku.

Welcome to contact us to discuss research/study positions and collaboration. Currently open positions are listed here. We will do our best but cannot guarantee to respond to all contacts.


  • Matti Ruuskanen

    Microbial ecology, bioinformatics, human microbiomes, environmental change.

  • Guilhem Sommeria-Klein

    Microbial ecology and biogeography, statistical ecology, probabilistic modeling.

  • Pande Putu Erawijantari

    Human microbiome, metagenomic, metabolomic, microbial ecology, bioinformatics

  • Aura Raulo

    Microbiomes, ecology.

  • Katariina Pärnänen

    Metagenomics, bioinformatics, AMR.

PhD researchers

  • Ville Laitinen

    Probabilistic modeling, time series, early warning signals.

  • Moein Khalighi

    Ecological Memory, Fractional Calculus, Differential Equations, Dynamic Modelling, Data Analysis.

  • Chandler Ross

    Eco-Evolutionary Dynamics, Statistical Modelling, Time Series.

  • Tuomas Borman

    Bioinformatics, Human microbiome, R package development.

PhD researchers, co-supervised

The affiliation for the co-supervised PhD candidates indicated in parentheses.

  • Iiro Tiihonen (COMHIS)

    Computational history, probabilistic modeling.

  • Ville Vaara (COMHIS)

    Computational history, digital humanities.

  • Henrik Eckerman (Nijmegen)

    Human microbiome and health, bioinformatics.

  • Mrunalini Lotankar (FOPP)

    Bioinformatics, human microbiome, metagenomic, metabolomic.

  • Anna Sorjamaa (Oulu)

    Microbiomes, bioinformatics.

  • Asiye Kazeroonian (Hanhineva lab)

    Human Microbiome, Metagenomics, Metabolomics, Bioinformatics

  • Renuka Potbhare (Pune)

    Human skin microbiome, metagenomics, bioinformatics.

Research assistants

  • Pyry Kantanen

    R programming, Open data, Social research.

  • Chouaib Benchraka

    Machine Learning, data science.

  • Giulio Benedetti

    Data Science.

  • Akewak Jeba

    Data Analytics



  • Rajesh Shigdel (visiting scholar, 2022)

Research assistants & interns:

  • Kevin Gatel (2022; summer intern)
  • Malaury Martin (2022; summer intern)
  • Yagmur Simsek (2021-2022)
  • Julia Matveeva (2021)
  • Tom Gobardhan (2021; summer intern)
  • Tim Garrels (2020; BARI internship)
  • Binu Mathew (2019-2020)
  • Hege Roivainen (2016-2020; at Helsinki Computational History Group)
  • Aaro Salosensaari (2019-2020)
  • Prashant Gaikwad (2019; SPARC / supported by Government of India)

MSc students:

  • Dorde Klisura (2022)
  • Anastasia Karavaeva (2020)
  • Wisam Saleem (2019-2020)
  • Binu Mathew (2019-2022)